Proceed with caution, sinner. The below contains spoilers for both Blasphemous and the free Wounds of Eventide DLC. If you are not ready to pay your penance just yet, look away now.

With launch day for Blasphemous 2 finally upon us, we wanted to take just a second to look back at the events that unfurled in the original game, bringing us to the precipice of a new adventure, where you will join The Penitent One once again as he is displaced from his final resting place and thrust back into an endless of cycle of life, death, and resurrection. A cycle he must end at all costs.

Set in Cvstodia, the original Blasphemous follows our protagonist, The Penitent One, as the sole survivor of the Massacre of the Silent Sorrow. With death shadowing his every step, and the land of Cvstodia breaking under the weight of a malevolent curse, known only as The Miracle, it falls to him to save the world from a fate far worse than death.

Vowed to silence for eternity, and armed with Mea Culpa, the Sword of Guilt, The Penitent One traverses an unforgiving and hostile land, searching for a way to fulfil his penance, while putting an end to the pain and misery The Miracle inflicts, slaying grotesque beasts and inhuman monstrosities in all four corners of a godforsaken world, and freeing tortured souls from eternal torment.

In the “True Ending,” attained by completing the free Wounds of Eventide DLC released in 2021, it is revealed that there were not three visages watching over the miracle’s plans, but four – and this fourth visage could see beyond the mortal world, into the Dream, where The Miracle’s true form was revealed. A divine trinity, the High Wills whose single-minded focus was to gain reverence and worship from the inhabitant of Cvstodia, feeding on their veneration to grow insurmountable power. Together with Crisanta of the Wrapped agony, The Penitent One faces The High Wills, destroying them, and their monstrous command over Cvstodia, banishing them from the world, or so we thought…

In Blasphemous 2, The Penitent One is reawakened, The Miracle has returned, and a new Child of The Miracle has been prophesied. Armed with three brand-new deadly weapons, each with their own unique attacks and abilities, The Penitent One must explore a perilous new world, unveiling long forgotten secrets, and reigning down fury upon any that stand in this way.

Featuring a fuller world to explore, scatted with grotesque landscapes oozing with baroque charm, and littered with traps and secrets to find, Blasphemous 2 jumps off where the original ended, offering up new ways to customize your playthrough, and new scores to settle, but only one thing is for certain now that it is available on Xbox Series X|S: “Penance never ends.”

Blasphemous 2


The second scripture in the Blasphemous series portends the return of The Penitent One, with a story that continues from the free Wounds of Eventide DLC for the original game, where The Heart in the sky heralded the return of The Miracle and foretold the birth of a new miracle child.

Awakened in a strange new land, and displaced from his final resting place, The Penitent One is thrust back into the endless cycle of life, death, and resurrection, with no other option than to explore this perilous new world and uncover its long-forgotten secrets.

Hordes of grotesque enemies stand in your way, awaiting final judgement by the brutal hand of the Penitent One, with titanic twisted bosses also lurking in the darkness, waiting for their chance to return you to the grave from whence you came.

Taking them down won’t be easy, but with Blasphemous 2 offering more chances to customise and improve your skill set, along with several new unique weapons to wield with righteous zeal and unending fury, victory might just be within grasp.

Ultimately, only one thing is certain… Penance Never Ends

Explore a fuller Non-Linear world

Having awoken in a strange new land, your journey starts anew in a series of enchantingly grotesque landscapes, oozing Gothic charm and littered with unforgiving traps. How you tackle the labyrinthian world remains at your discretion, there is no wrong turn to be made, only scores to settle

Savage Combat

The Penitent One shows no mercy, and with a series of new weapons offering new moves, brutal executions, and expanded combos, destruction will rain on any that stand in his way

Customize your playthrough your way

Blasphemous 2 offers up new ways to play, with the ability to customise and improve your base skillset, alongside several new unique weapons to unleash devastating attacks on enemies

Grand Intense Boss Battles

Hordes of monstrous foes stand between you and your goal; twisted bosses with unique attack patters and sundering abilities will put your skills to the test as you fight to stand triumphant when the dust settles

Explore a deep new world

A whole new world awaits, bustling with mysterious new NPCs to interact with, some will offer aid, some will ask for it, and others will send you on death defying missions to obtain long forgotten items. With so much to see and do, the stories and myths you encounter will help you unpick the games myriad of secrets, granting you a deeper understanding of this strange new world



Blasphemous is a punishing action-platformer that combines the fast-paced, skilled combat of a hack-n-slash game with a deep and evocative narrative core, delivered through exploration of a huge universe comprised of non-linear levels.

A foul curse has fallen upon the land of Cvstodia and all its inhabitants – it is simply known as The Miracle.

Play as The Penitent One – a sole survivor of the massacre of the ‘Silent Sorrow’. Trapped in an endless cycle of death and rebirth, it’s down to you to free the world from this terrible fate and reach the origin of your anguish.

Explore this nightmarish world of twisted religion and discover its many secrets hidden deep inside. Use devastating combos and brutal executions to smite the hordes of grotesque monsters and titanic bosses, who are all ready to rip your limbs off. Locate and equip relics, rosary beads and prayers that call on the powers of the heavens to aid you in your quest to break your eternal damnation.

Key Features:

Explore a Non-Linear World: Overcome fearsome enemies and deadly traps as you venture through a variety of different landscapes, and search for redemption in the dark gothic world of Cvstodia.

Brutal Combat: Release the power of Mea Culpa, a sword born from guilt itself, to slaughter your foes. Acquire devastating new combos and special moves as you purge all in your path.

Executions: Unleash your wrath and relish in the gory dismemberment of your adversaries – all in beautifully rendered, pixel-perfect execution animations.

Customise Your Build: Discover and equip Relics, Rosary Beads, Prayers and Sword Hearts to give you the new abilities and stat boosts you need to survive. Experiment with different combinations to suit your playstyle.

Epic Boss Battles: Hordes of gigantic, twisted creatures stand between you and your goal. Learn how they move, survive their devastating attacks and emerge victorious.

Unlock the Mysteries of Cvstodia: The world is full of tormented souls. Some offer you aid, some may ask for something in return. Uncover the stories and fates of these tortured characters to gain rewards and a deeper understanding of the dark world you inhabit.

Next Week on Xbox: New Games for August 21 to 25
Free Play Days – The Knight Witch, Forza Horizon 5, Let’s Build a Zoo, and Blasphemous
Next Week on Xbox: New Games for August 14 to August 18

Source: MajorNelson Xbox News

Please follow and like us:
Liked it? Take a second to support XPLoot on Patreon!