Square Enix is hosting Final Fantasy 7 stream next week in celebration of the game’s 25th anniversary – and many fans will be hoping to see a glimpse of Final Fantasy 7 Remake: Part 2.

Streaming on the publisher’s YouTube and Twitch channels, the stream will take place on June 16 at 3pm Pacific / 6pm Eastern / 11pm UK (so June 17 at 9am AEDT).

It’s unclear what Square Enix will announce during the ten minute stream but it promised fans “a first look at all the information surrounding the 25th anniversary of Final Fantasy 7”.

While fans’ may be hoping for some news regarding the long-awaited Remake: Part 2, it’s worth noting that Square Enix has several ongoing spin-offs of the classic PlayStation RPG, and could just be announcing new information regarding those. Final Fantasy VII Remake director Tetsuya Nomura said last month that Square Enix would be announcing “various things” during an anniversary event but, again, didn’t go into further details.

Other Final Fantasy 7 games include The First Soldier and upcoming mobile RPG Final Fantasy VII: Ever Crisis, but the announcements could be totally non-game related, more akin to the recent clothing line reveal. There are also further spin-offs planned, with Nomura saying in January that “there will be even more new Final Fantasy 7 projects that started up after the remake coming in the future too. The team see this 25th anniversary as a waypoint on our journey with Final Fantasy 7, and will continue pressing ahead to even greater things.”

Remake: Part 2 was confirmed to be in full development in July 2020 but Square Enix has otherwise kept quiet on the sequel. In our 8/10 review of Part 1, IGN said: “Final Fantasy 7 Remake’s dull filler and convoluted additions can cause it to stumble, but it still breathes exciting new life into a classic while standing as a great RPG all its own.”

Ryan Dinsdale is an IGN freelancer who occasionally remembers to tweet @thelastdinsdale. He’ll talk about The Witcher all day.


Source: IGN Video Games All
Source:

Please follow and like us:
Liked it? Take a second to support XPLoot on Patreon!