Nintendo has announced that a roughly 15-minue Super Nintendo World Direct will take place on December 18 at 3pm PT/6pm ET/11pm GMT that will show more of Universal Studios Japan’s newest theme park area.

Nintendo also was careful to mention that “no game content will be featured,” so it looks to only show more of the much-anticipated theme park area that is set to open to the public on February 4, 2021.

[ignvideo url=”https://www.ign.com/videos/2020/11/30/super-nintendo-world-reveal-trailer”%5D

IGN Japan and other members of the press were able to get a sneak peak at Super Nintendo World last month, and got a glimpse of Bowser’s Castle and where guests will line up for the Mario Kart: Koopa’s Challenge ride.

The Mario Kart-themed ride will put visitors in the driving seat and includes AR and projection mapping to bring the beloved action of the Mario Kart series to life, all through the help of a wearable Mario’s hat that has a built-in AR screen.

Super Nintendo World was set to open ahead of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics in Summer 2020, but it was postponed due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. However, a Mario-themed cafe and store inside Universal Studios Japan did open and gave guests a glimpse of what they can expect from this new area.

[widget path=”global/article/imagegallery” parameters=”albumSlug=super-nintendo-world-in-universal-studios-japan-sneak-peek&captions=true”]

Super Nintendo World will also feature interactive attractions that will allow guests to use their Power Up Bands to collect digital coins and unlock achievements.

[poilib element=”accentDivider”]

Have a tip for us? Want to discuss a possible story? Please send an email to newstips@ign.com.

Adam Bankhurst is a news writer for IGN. You can follow him on Twitter @AdamBankhurst and on Twitch.
Source: IGN Video Games All
Source:

Please follow and like us: