If you own a Oculus Quest, Quest 2, Rift, or Rift S and have linked your Oculus account to Facebook, you will permanently lose all access to your games, purchases, and progress should you happen to delete your Facebook account.

As reported by UploadVR, this news came about following the launch of the Oculus Quest 2, which is the first Oculus headset to require owners to log in with a Facebook account.

As verified by IGN and seen in the screenshot we’ve captured below, when you attempt to delete your Facebook account, it says “Deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information. This includes app purchases and your achievements. You will no longer be able to return any apps and will lose any existing store credits.”

If you were to deactivate your Facebook account, on the other hand, you would lose access to Oculus products and information, but would be able to get them back if you were to reactivate the account.

This is another issue and fear that have all stemmed from the news that Oculus VR will start requiring Facebook accounts. While Oculus Quest 2 requires it now, those with older Oculus hardware won’t have to do so until January 1, 2023. However, first-time users will need to log in using a Facebook account.

As for the Oculus Quest 2 itself, we gave it a 9/10 in our review, and said it “improves over its predecessor in a lot of little ways, with a few small drawbacks like the enlarged controllers and cheaper strap. But its wireless nature, ease of use, and accessible price still make it a killer VR headset.”

[ignvideo url=”https://www.ign.com/videos/2020/03/23/half-life-alyx-review”%5D

[poilib element=”accentDivider”]

Have a tip for us? Want to discuss a possible story? Please send an email to newstips@ign.com.

Adam Bankhurst is a news writer for IGN. You can follow him on Twitter @AdamBankhurst and on Twitch.
Source: IGN Video Games All
Source:

Please follow and like us: